From Loren to Marimar

Soliloquy

I never thought Philippine media can get more complicated than what it is right now. I was indeed walking blindly with my aspirations without further knowing what I get myself into. And creepy as it may seem, I could actually picture myself out as a kid with a random bulky guy behind me whispering, “hindi mo alam kung anong pinapasok mo, bata”.

That was the vast effect of reading From Loren to Marimar for an aspiring media practitioner like me. It was gruesome yet addicting.

I’ve always known how crooked and flawed Philippine media is, but this book flaunted a bolder revelation of the actual truth that happened more than a decade ago, with no sign of remorse. Just when I thought I’ve already loaded my mind with enough information, it would startle me and say, “But oops, there’s more!”

For the people who are yearning for a roller coaster ride of truth, cheers! The book’s for you. It is highly recommended.

Ever heard of the saying – there’s nothing money can’t buy? Well, some of you may cringe and disagree by saying “money can’t buy happiness”. I hate to break it to you but darling you see, the world that we live in doesn’t work like that. This isn’t fiction, we need to get our shit together and be realistic. If you’re sleeping with tons of money on your bed or someone who’s working more than 8 hours a day without getting enough salary, then you can be down for some filthy business.

According to Chua and Datinguinoo’s article of Media Ethics, veteran journalists say that pay-offs to the press from politicians are not new. Okay, maybe I’m just over-reacting. I need to remind myself that it isn’t new, it’s normal, it really happens. (Insert sarcasm) That’s how screwed this whole thing is.

For Pete’s sake, it is exhausting to hear somebody generalizing media people as bayaran. Bayaran; just like their perception of policemen and women who resorted to immoral work just to earn bucks. It is frustrating, really. And I don’t even know where to put the blame. Is it to the officials who have been blinded by their greed of power? Or merely the journalists who had no choice but to accept payola because one, they need to earn a living and two, the fear of taking risks which is already affiliated to their work?

And years from now, I wonder, will I feel the same way as them? Even if I will, I hope I could hold on to the principles I’ve long made for myself. Because I don’t want people to look lowly at me and see me just as someone whose moral and principles could easily be bought. Quoting a journalist from the article:

“Once you’ve crossed the line you can never go back. Your integrity as a journalist will always be under question; some people will consider you as someone ready to sell your writing or editing skills anytime to the highest bidder.”

Leave a Reply

